top of page
Search

‘SAC Beyond Walls’ Program is a Life Saver!


Photo credits by Keok Ing. Her mother, Mdm Heng (above), is currently participating in the SBW programme.

My mother lives alone in a 3 room HDB flat. She is a very independent woman who does her chores and cooks her meal all by herself.


Seeing my mother feeling bored and aimless at home got me worried and I did not know what to do. - Keok Ing

However, after a fall, she could no longer go out on her own and could not go to the SAC to meet her friends and sing Karaoke together. Seeing my mother feeling bored and aimless at home got me worried and I did not know what to do.


Thankfully, I saw a poster on SAC Beyond Walls and immediately signed her up. She got digital skills lessons and was able to use the website and Zoom with no issues! There was even an Occupational Therapist that helped to recommend a suitable table and chair for my mother, and even gave her step-by-step visual guides in case she forgets any steps when using the computer!


Photo credits by Keok Ing. Mdm Heng smiling for the camera post-Zoom session that was conducted by the SAC staff

My mother no longer sits on the sofa and stare into space or watch TV throughout the day. She is lively, happy and occupied again! - Keok Ing

Now, she happily uses the SAC Beyond Walls website to find new pictures to paint everyday and also joins Zoom sessions twice a week to sing karaoke with her friends at the centre. It is like she is physically back at the SAC again! My mother no longer sits on the sofa and stare into space or watch TV throughout the day. She is lively, happy and occupied again! Thank you SAC Beyond Walls for providing opportunities for my mother to do the things she love again without having to step out of her house.





Comments


bottom of page